Welcome to the web site of the Center for Research in Biological Chemistry and Molecular Materials (CiQUS). Here you will find information about the research areas, groups and scientists that comprise this center, and also about its organization, facilities, services and other data of interest. CiQUS is a member of the Singular Research Centers Network, a core structure of  the Campus of International Excellence– Campus Vida project, and it is focused towards the application of transdisciplinary strategies to solve relevant problems in the field of biological chemistry and in the development of novel functional materials.


CIQUS offers 10 SUMMER FELLOWSHIPS to undergraduates.

If you are an enthusiastic undergraduate student with a background in Chemistry or related studies, you are welcome to spend a one-month paid internship at ‪‎CIQUS‬.


Young CIQUS researchers Felix Freire and Martin Fañanás will participate as Invited Speakers at the 7th Spanish Portuguese Japanese Organic Chemistry Symposium (7th SPJ-OCS), to be held in Seville, on June 23-26, 2015.

Recent publications

Real-time investigation of dynamic protein crystallization in living cells

R. Schönherr, M. Klinge, J. M. Rudolph, K. Fita, D. Rehders, F. Lübber, S. Schneegans, I. V. Majoul1, M. Duszenko, C. Betzel4, A. Brandariz Nuñez, J. Martinez Costas, R. Duden L. Redecke

Self-assembly in aqueous solution of amphiphilic graft copolymers from oxidized carboxymethylcellulose

E. Bordallo, J. Rieumont, M.J. Tiera, M. Gómez, M. Lazzari

Fullerene recognition with molecular tweezers made up of efficient buckybowls: a dispersion-corrected DFT study

D. Josa, J. Rodríguez Otero, E.M. Cabaleiro Lago

An automated transition state search using classical trajectories initialized at multiple minima

E. Martínez Núñez

A Two-Step, Stereoselective Synthesis of Nine- and Ten-Membered Carbocycles from Phthalates

G. Prado, A. X. Veiga, F. Fernández Nieto, M. R. Paleo, F. J. Sardina